Office of Student Involvement Intern

SEPTEMBER 2010  – JUNE 2011

I was very fortunate to be one of the first interns for the Office of Student Involvement at Kalamazoo College.  I organized a weekly event series, Wind Down Wednesdays, and planned larger events for our Saturday series, Zoo After Dark.

I handled performer contracts, show advances and reservations and kept things organized by writing execution plans for event staff. I marketed our events using print and digital elements, designing table tents and posters on a weekly basis. Most notably, I used creative Facebook marketing to advertise event giveaways, cross-promote with participating student organizations and send a direct messages to students before important events. Compiling student evaluations and my own experience, I created a detailed qualitative report on Wind Down Wednesdays at the end of the year.

I couldn’t have been happier with growing success of Wind Down Wednesdays. The series was in its first year of programming during my internship, and it is now one of OSI’s  most cost-effective events per student attendance. It also piloted a model for student organization co-sponsorship, which is now an integral part of many OSI series.

Check out some pictures from OSI events below. Click on any image to view in gallery style.