WDET Digital Communications Intern

JUNE 2011 – AUGUST 2011

Interning at WDET NPR Detroit was a dream. I was able to work with some award-winning journalists and an extremely talented digital team. I created pages and entered stories using the custom CMS on the WDET website. I also helped manage the WDET Facebook page and The Craig Fahle Show Facebook page. I created manuals for updating site CMS and Facebook page analysis and trained volunteers on how to use them.

My proudest accomplishment was developing the Total Engagement Value algorithm along with WDET’s media manager. Using this algorithm, the digital team was able to track and analyze user interactions and capture individual user engagement. (This was before the days of EdgeRank, which uses a formula very similar to the one we developed independently.)

Page metrics and Total Engagement Value.

Some other fun things I did at WDET included attending a press conference on Detroit Public Schools at which Arnie Duncan spoke, selling merchandise at a Moth Story Slam and video chatting with reporter Sarah Hill, famous for her innovative use of Google Hangouts, on ways that reporters could utilize Google+ for the newsroom.