Fire Radio and Promotions Lead

SEPTEMBER 2012 – PRESENT

During my senior year at Kalamazoo College, I was designated to be the Civic Engagement Scholar for the Fire Historical and Cultural Arts Collaborative through the Mary Jane Underwood Stryker Institute for Service-Learning. Fire is a nonprofit whose mission is to foster economic and cultural development through the performing, visual, culinary and eco-friendly arts.

During my time at Fire, I have worked as one of the leads for both our radio and promotions teams. Fire recently launched their community radio station, WFCR. As a part of the radio team, I have been aggressively developing the station so that we’re prepared to apply for low-power FM status in spring of 2013. I’ve been recruiting DJs, training them to use Live 365 radio software and creating organizational materials for the station.

As the promotions lead, I helped create and direct the marketing campaign for the radio station, creating a brand strategy, writing PSAs and organizing promotional events. I also help advertise Fire’s three monthly event series through our digital media outlets, including Twitter, Facebook and email marketing, and through street marketing.

Some of the more creative parts of my job include hosting poetry open mics and a Spanish language radio show. I’ve also created graphic designs for Fire’s print advertisements and Facebook pages. Check out some of my work below.